Somewhere Between Hope and Insanity

Anyone who is a sports’ fan will tell you with too much gusto that it’s not easy being a fan. The 2015 Cowboys proved this to me in spades this year. But as a human being we should always try to learn something from everything we go through in life. So even though the Cowboys have slightly shortened my life with the season they turned in, I did learn something about myself when it comes to sports…I live in a world between hope and insanity. 

Hope-verb- to look forward to with desire and reasonable confidence.

Insanity-noun- (as I’ve heard it described many times) is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result.

I feel that what I experience with my team is not quite hope. Hope doesn’t quite describe it the right way. It goes beyond that. Hope is like blind faith. It’s not knowing all the information and still trying to stay positive that the result produced will be a flavorable one for you. No, hope is bland, it’s those dollar store’s toy versions of the quality toy…cheap and doesn’t quite look right. No what I have is something different, I know my team is better than most teams in the NFL. That’s not cocky fan talk, I know talent-wise we have a superior team. Injuries decimated much of the early expectations but still we fans trudged on. Through what amounted to a 1-10 record between Weeden, Cassell and Moore with Romo accounting for the other 5 games (3-2 record as a starter). Most would have stopped expecting their team to win but somehow, even throughout the 7-game losing streak, I continued to expect my team to win. I couldn’t say, well no I could say they were going to lose I just didn’t believe it. Week after week things stayed the same but yet I still expected something different. 

So you see I, a fan, live my life somewhere between hope and insanity. Maybe hinsanity. Insanitope? Whatever it may be I guess I get to run on the fields of a fool’s paradise.

Leave a comment