Ripples in the Pond

Let’s start with a disclaimer, I’m not a professional writer. I’m just a guy who loves sports, is highly observant, smart, has a lot of time on his hand and more importantly a wife who’s tired of listening to me. Hallelujah for social media and its easy delivery of opinions.

The latest thought is a question. One formed through the signings of MLB Jaylon Smith and recently RT La’el Collins. They both agreed to “team friendly” deals. Deals putting them near the top of their positions salary-wise but yet still leaving room for the organization to maneuver other deals. The question that rose in my mind was this, “What are the chances Dak gives the Cowboys a “team friendly” deal?

I hear the groans and the sighs and the audible eye rolls. Yeah I hear those, I’m married.

Just hear me out. There’s been some contention between the Cowboy’s front office (Stephen) and player’s agents. Dak is a pleaser and he’ll do anything for his teammates. That’s why they love the guy. Jaylon proves you can cash in on the Star. Collins proves you don’t need to be the highest paid to be content. He’s also a very good friend of Dak’s.

The organization has been subtlety sending a message to its players, play ball and you’ll get paid. It’s a lot to ask but if it helps you save a little money by pulling on heartstrings, why not. Will Dak succumb to peer pressure? Will he happily take a lesser deal and join his gridiron brothers a just slightly poorer man than he should have been? Will those damn meddling kids ever not ruin things for the old guy just looking to get one over on the man? All valid questions I think.

Leave a comment